Cancellation of Confirmed Sit

I am fairly new to THS.
Why is it that a Home Owner is able to cancel a confirmed Pet Sit without consulting the Sitter but the same method for cancelling via the website does not apply to the Sitter.
And is that fair?
There must be times when a Sitter has a legitimate reason for having to cancel a Sit.
Of course there can be serious implications to either party cancelling a Sit, as well as the inconvenience but I would like to think that both HO & PS have the same rights & method for cancelling.

6 Likes

Hello @dma and welcome as a newer member! Please be assured that while the process is in place for owners to cancel a confirmed sit, this is only permitted with the agreement of both parties and in extraordinary circumstances.

Iā€™m not clear on the technical reason as to why the sit is cancelled, on mutual agreement, by the owner but will try to find out when the product team are back next week. I would assume it might be because the owner has ā€œcontrolā€ of the sit within the software setup. I will come back to you on this.

There are a couple of help desk articles that might help explain the criteria around cancellations but this is a quote from the firstā€¦

What happens if I need to cancel a sit?

If you have confirmed a sit but need to cancel, you must inform the other member immediately so that they can make any necessary alternative arrangements.

Remember, a sit must only be cancelled if both you and the other member agree, or if there are any extraordinary circumstances. If this is not the case and you cancel outside of these terms, an investigation may take place that could result in disciplinary action against your membership.

The full document is here:

If you need help with cancellations, please do reach out to the membership services team at support@trustedhousesitters.com and they will be able to help.

All the best,and enjoy your weekend. Vanessa

2 Likes