Does having 'applicants' on your listing put off other sitters applying?

Hi there,
I am new to THS and we are hoping to find a sitter for our 2 dogs over Christmas in the UK! I am conscious of the fact that our departure date is fast arriving and we have yet to find someone.
We have had two ‘applicants’ - one never got back to me when she requested to arrange a call and the other applicant was asking a couple of questions before making a decision closer to the time.
My questions are: does my listing with 2 ‘applicants’ put other fellow sitters off from applying as they might assume I have found someone?
Also, should I decline the applicant that went cold or leave open (perhaps they found a more suitable sit as they were travelling longhaul)?
Thanks for any guidance!

6 Likes

We personally don’t even scroll down to older sits very often and would hesitate to apply if the listing was older and already had applicants. It might be good to boost your listing or at least reject the applicant who didn’t get back to you.

5 Likes

I apply for sits based on area, date suitability, and my other personal criteria being met. Whether other people have applied isn’t ever a consideration at all! :slightly_smiling_face:

7 Likes

It never bothers me when there are other applicants. I still apply. I’m a HO here also so I know that sometimes the best applicant is the 4th or 10th.

5 Likes

Hi,

Just some thoughts as I look at your ad. To me as a sitter who is not local, it basically removes any interest due to the limited public transit and no car.

No problem with rural sits, in fact, sought after, however, on a three week sit, there needs to be some mobility provided. Otherwise, to me anyways, it appears we will be stuck in the immediate area unless we rent a costly car which will just sit at the house a majority of the time.

So perhaps add use of car included to help find someone and just be more selective based on interviews.

2 Likes