First Horrible Sitter

Hi! Just looking for advice. I’ve been using Trusted Housesitters for two years now. Generally I’ve had great experiences with sitters, minus a couple that were below-average but ok. But I just got home from a 2.5-week trip, and I’m furious.

It took me hours of cleaning, reorganizing, moving furniture, and doing laundry to get my apartment back to normal, plus I’m missing a few things and found at least one thing that’s broken. Question 1) Is it worth the hassle to try to use TH insurance for a couple hundred dollars worth of missing towels and broken pots?

Even worse, I don’t think the litter boxes were changed more than once or twice the entire time I was away. (For 3 cats.) The litter had turned into this heavy black sludge that had to be scraped off the bottom of the litter box. It was completely disgusting. Poor cats. They could have gotten sick, or started going outside the litter box. Also, one of the cats has a small injury. It might not be the sitter’s fault, but he was so negligent otherwise that I’m suspicious. Question 2) Is there anything I can do, other than leave a bad review? This person should never be in charge of a pet’s welfare.

If you have any suggestions (or similar stories) I’d love to hear them!