Hello, Community - from Chicago

Hi, I my name is Thomas(Tom) and just joined this group. I live in a Western suburb of Chicago, IL, I am a retired engineer after many decades of working in the cellular telephone industry.
My passion has always been travel. I have traveled 64 countries and hopefully a lot more in the near future. I have walked Camino de Santiago six times before my annual walk was interrupted by the current pandemic.
I have had a few years of house/pet sitting and Help Exchange. I am a previously a dog owner, but I do not own any pets anymore because of my frequent travel, but I love animals.
One of the reasons I travel so often is looking for a ā€œperfectā€ place to permanently retire, if there is such a place.

1 Like

Welcome, Tom - I lived for a few years in Chicago - Rogers Park and Evanston, but that was a long time ago. I started with TH in summer of 2019 and have about 40 sits since then, even with the covid interruptions.
Not sure there is a perfect place to retire, but TH has let me check out a lot of possibilities.
Iā€™ve managed 3 international sits - 2 in the UK and 1 in Korea before covid essentially shut down international travel, but starting up again in mid-Feb with a string of 4 sits in the UK.
tom

Hi Tom( and community),

I just came across this forum today as I am reading up about travel options etc. Iā€™m also from Chicago( southside burbs).

I would love any insight on your experiences thus far. Iā€™m heading back to Ireland and Scotland this year for a week. Figure this would be a nice, different option!

I own one dog and one cat, thank goodness my sister will watch them when I go haha.

1 Like