Hello from NYC! 🗽

Greetings fellow sitters and hosts! My name is Katy and I have been with TrustedHousesitters since 2019 as a house/catsitter. The pet I cared for most recently was dear Mickey the cat in Auburn, Maine, USA. I live in Astoria, Queens, NYC. Next, I would like to return to Maine, but also want to try international.
Happy sitting and hosting to all!

7 Likes

Hi Katy, welcome to the Forum. Can you link your profile to your Forum handle?

Thank you for the feedback! I tried, but not sure if it worked!

@katyNYC and welcome to the forum! I’ve just added your profile link for you so it should be working now! I see you are a Frida Kahlo fan… me too! Spent some time in Mexico City visiting her home and studios… such an inspirational story! Where in the world would you like to begin your international journey?

1 Like

Thank you so much, Vanessa! How did you do that?
I’ll travel anywhere really, but was thinking Newfoundland & Labrador in Canada or Wales.
Cheers!

1 Like

No problem… I’ve done it so many times … but you need to properly “view” your profile, not preview it. When you “preview” in the dashboard it doesn’t give you the full URL. Here are the instructions in case you want to copy the link to share elsewhere…
How to add a listing or profile link to your FORUM profile
Nice choices!! I haven’t been to Canada, still… but I used to live in Wales (if you mean in the UK) - it was the last place I properly called “home” before selling up to travel ! Let us know which you decide on!!

Yes, I meant Wales in the UK. I would love to hear about your experience living there! I am of Welsh decent on both my mother and father’s side, and my mom grew up hearing Welsh spoken in her upstate New York home. I visited once and found it enchanting! I would love to return and learn the language, which I know is crazy!
Thank you again for your help!

1 Like

@katyNYC I love the outdoors, cycling, hiking, camping etc., so Wales was a dream for me. I lived on the edge of the Brecon Beacons overlooking the canal at Talybont-on-Usk, and could be in the hills and forest in minutes. We also had a bit of a micro-climate, protected by Pen-y-Fan, the highest local peak so not as much rain as other areas. I particularly enjoyed the small village life, not totally unlike what we experience in France now. Farmers markets, crafts, so much culture and heritage. Towns like Abergavenny (where I see sits come up) and Brecon, but so many more. I do think you need a car as transport isn’t always the most reliable or frequent, and definitely a rain jacket for most areas! When you start researching more just let me know the areas you’re considering and I’ll impart any local knowledge I have :slight_smile:

1 Like