Hi I am a new sitter from Wales UK

Hi
I’m Ally a new sitter. I’m from west Wales in the uk. I’ve joined to be able to travel whilst helping take care of lovely dogs that I adore and allowing their family to also travel. It’s a win-win
I am Looking to find a sit in the states.
Can I ask is it hard to find sits as a single person and is it hard to find sits where I can use public transport? I have made sure it’s clear in my profile that I am a trusted professional, as I feel it must be hard for those opening their homes and pets to feel that they can fully rely on sitters.
Any more tips I am grateful :blush:

2 Likes

Hello @Ally1 Wishing you a warm welcome to the forum community, it’s lovely to have you here.

Wales is such a beautiful place and where I brought my first horse :smiling_face:

You have come to the right place to get lots of help and feedback about getting started as a sitter on the platform.

You can use the spyglass to search for previous topics and in reference to your request about public transport there is a thread discussing about what the icon ‘sitters needs car’ means and how to find out if you need a car for that area or can use public transport. That might answer some of your questions and get you started.

Also, a good idea is to share your THS sitter’s profile link to your forum profile. That way other members can view your profile and give you helpful feedback and tips to get you started.

Here is how to add that:

If you need any help at all then please let me know.

I am excited to hear all about your housesitting adventures!

2 Likes

Hi @Ally1 , No, it is not hard to find sits as a single person in the US. Public transport varies from place to place. Are their particular cities you are interested in? One thing that is good here is that Uber and Lyft are pretty widely available, unlike in the UK where I learned the hard way.