Home owner called my place of employment

Hello friends!
Looking for advice on a very unsettling situation I am in. I am on a 3 month sit just watching someone’s home- they do not have pets which is fine. I just got a call from my employer saying that the home owners I am sitting for called my place of employment asking questions about me?!

What do I do? Has anyone encountered this before? I think this is highly inappropriate and not only do I not really understand what this would have to do with my sit, but I feel this is a pretty huge breach of trust and I’m not feeling extremely safe or comfortable here anymore. Am I over reacting? Would love any feedback! Thank you!

1 Like

I don’t think you are overreacting. That’s
weird and creepy. Did you tell them where you worked or did they do some research? I don’t generally volunteer my surname or what I do for a living or who I work for as I am keen to keep my work and my house sitting strictly separate. If they had wanted to do checks before the sit and you’d consented that would be one thing but calling your employer after the house sit starts is super odd and inappropriate. Do you know what they asked? Have they been trying to reach you and couldn’t so just wanted to get ahold of you some other way or did their questions really cross the line?

1 Like

UPDATED: I’d seen another post where the same OP mentioned “THS sits and non-THS” and thought the sit in question was NOT THS. However, the OP corrected this.

Important bit of information here: You posted recently on another thread and mentioned this is not a THS sit. So if was a THS sit, something like that would be icky and if not a violation of a policy, certainly a breach. Not knowing anything about the kind of agreement you made with the people you are sitting for: Are you paying them? Are they paying you? What are you expected to do? Etc Etc. I don’t know if anyone on this forum can really say.

Well spotted.

Deleted, issue found

Hi @Moni