House sit cancelled last moment in Amsterdam

Hi everyone. I’m new to THS. The house sit I secured for Dec was canceled yesterday and was due to start tomorrow 10 Dec. The house owner informed me that her kid is sick and they can’t travel. She is super sweet and offered to help and even compensate me but I’m not sure what to ask. She us being proactive about trying to find another sit for me via fb. Very sweet of her. I managed to find another house sit starting 20 Dec, but the original house sit was due to start tomorrow 10 Dec. I’m flying tomorrow morning to Amsterdam (location of the sit). Any advice what to do from here would be appreciated. Thanks.

So sorry to hear of your predicament @ayeletfleming, especially as you are new to THS.
Do you have premium membership which includes cancellation insurance?
Ensure the dates are removed from your calendar immediately as this will enable you to apply for any available sits to fill the gap.
Contact member support - initially it will be via a bot but request to speak to a human.

5 Likes

Ouch!!
@ayeletfleming , a last minute 11th to the 15th has just popped up if you are quick!

Edited to meet posting guidelines - please DM all links

3 Likes

Thank you so much @Colin
Unfortunatly im no good with cat hair…
I won’t be able to give this cat the cuddles she needs.
Goid thinking though.
Mych appreciated.

Thanks you @Twitcher . Unfortunately, I don’t have premium account. My mustake, i said to the house owner to cavel and remove the listing so i can book a new sit. I should have checked regarding the upgrade before she did that. I also cobracted support via chat and spoke to a human. There is nothing they can do.

The insurance was a last resort as I have read how difficult it is to claim.
What a shame your first experience of THS is a negative one.
I do hope something turns up for you and if you secure another sit in the future it is a great experience.

@ayeletfleming first
DON’T PANIC ( easier said than done I know )