Housesitter demanding money or canceling 4 days before flight and durgery

This is my first time using a house sitter. The sitter agreed to stay 3 weeks. I told her I would leave her $300 as well as the regular pantry foods.
4 days before I leave for Asia, she stopped by my house, reluctantly but on my insistence, to meet. She stayed all of 20 minutes.
Today she texted that she thinks my 2 year old 27 pound Frenchie is too energetic and that she needs $400 a week to house sit him and if not, we should cancel.
I don’t know what to do. I can’t find anyone on this short notice. I scheduled surgery and paid for a non- refundable ticket. I’m thinking maybe I have to give my dog away. I’m just like a chicken with no head right now. What should I do?

Is this a THS-sit? Then it should be reported to member services as an official Member Dispute as it is breach of terms for a sitter to ask for money. It is important that you use that term - you raise a Member Dispute.

This is blackmail in my opinion.

Depending on your location, you might get a sitter. With less than 7 days to sit you can also post it here in the Last Minute-section.

Have you talked to member services? If you use the chatbot you need to ask to talk to a human (probably twice).

7 Likes

Absolutely blackmail, refuse and report them and ask for help from MS asap @Marianne55 Gives all sitters a bad name & breaks all the rules of THS. #standyourground

6 Likes

We are not paid to house and pet sit it’s against TH rules. Report at once, you can advertise as urgent but you should always have a back up plan in case of an emergency so you may need that or use a paid sitter

4 Likes

Hi @Marianne55

I’m so sorry this is happening to you.

After checking your details I can see that you’ve raised your concerns about this with our Membership Services team, who are absolutely the right people to help you here.

Hopefully our lovely Forum members can give you some moral support on this thread.