New owner reflections and tips on the application process

I have been using the THS website & app for over 2 years as a sitter but this week had the experience as a new home owner seeking a sitter for 5 months while we are sitting in the UK. From a sitter’s perspective our sit is desirable - an easy care beachfront apartment with no pets, just some plants to water, resort amenities in the building, great public transport and coastal pathways and numerous cafes nearby. Within 24 hours of the listing going live we had 19 applications. Here are some learnings:

• make sure all photos are in landscape orientation not portrait as they fill the space and don’t have thick black margins on each side like portrait layout does
  • if your sit is a long one, have some understanding of your country’s tourist visa limitations. Half our applicants were international and Australia’s tourist visa rules have changed limiting most to being automatically granted for 3 months even though the goverment website says it can be for up to 12 months, however this is for extenuating circumstances, not a given. Meaning, for a 5 month sit some international applicants might back out when they can’t get a long enough visa. This is not helpful if you have confirmed them in THS and then they have to cancel. I know sitters should research all of this before they apply for a sit but a lot don’t.
  • don’t be afraid to hit the pause button to review listings. I went to work with 10 applications and by lunchtime had 19 when I hit pause. It’s easy to get overwhelmed.
  • as soon as possible send all applicants a quick thank you note advising you have had several applications that you are reviewing and will get back to them soon (all sitters were very appreciative of this)