New to THS - what am i getting wrong?!

Hello! This is my first time on THS, trying to find a sitter for my 4 rescue cats.

I’ve contacted 30+ people and not had any luck at all, so checking to see what I’m doing wrong!

I’ve messaged people with the dates highlighted in green, although there haven’t been many.

I was recommended to search a wider radius for people wanting to get away, and no luck.

I’ve contacted people that come up as available when i put the dates in the search list and they’ve either heading off abroad or haven’t replied.

We leave in just over 2 weeks so I’m panicking a little. I know I can find someone to pop in twice a day to feed them but they’ll miss out on the interaction as this is the first time we’ve been away since 2019.

This is likely to be the only time we get away in the next year too, so it’s a waste of money for an annual subscription if it never gets used again.

Any advice please do let me know!

Thank you!

Moderated to adhere to forum guidelines

2 Likes

It does not work that way. Almost all people have other plans. And people in your neighbourhood would often not be particularly interested in living at your place.

The idea is that people from somewhere else might be interested in your region. If they had that as a “Saved search” they will get notified. Could be hundreds. And those already had an interest in your area.

Dates might not fit, or they were maybe not interested in your kind of pet, but it is a much more efficient way.

1 Like

Have you created a listing so sitters can apply? That’s the usual way most people get sitters. If not, I’d suggest you do that and ask membership services to help you promote it urgently.

Depending on your membership, you might be able to get a refund if you don’t get any applicants.

1 Like