New to trustedhousesitters but not sure i'm doing it right

Hi, my name is Sara and I’m new to TrustedhHousesitters. I’m not sure if I’m doing everything right or not. I’ve applied for some house sits and the message says read but there are no replies it’s been 8 days now. I’ve looked back on the sit link and person is still looking for sitters. I was also invited to sit by another member and I said unfortunately I couldn’t do the dates she wanted on the first set she offered but I could do the other dates advertised, again I’ve not received a reply? Are replies anywhere else on the site or should they be under your applications bit? Hoping this isn’t the way it goes with no replies as I’d love to help but communication is key…any advice?

Sara x

1 Like

Hello and welcome to the forum!

If you want to add your Sitter profile link to your forum name, we can take a look at your profile and maybe give you some suggestions to make it more desirable.

Depending on where you’re applying it’s not always easy to get the first sit so make sure you have some good external references to start with and if you can, apply for some local sits first so you can get some good 5 star reviews.

4 Likes

Hi @SaraWK, big welcome here. I sent you a personal message but wanted to also echo @Kelownagurl 's comments about adding your link to your Forum listing. I’ve gone ahead and applied it so now when people see your comments they handily have access to your profile. Now folks can dive in and make suggestions for enhancements. You might also double check your listing for punctuation, etc.

I understand the challenge of getting started and also agree that to apply for local sits at first ‘puts you on the map,’ so to speak. There are so many reasons why it takes some longer than others to reply…work schedules, application overwhelm, different timezones…but do keep at it!