Newbie! Is it easy to find sitters for the holidays (all december) in Cold cities like Montreal?

Hi! I am new in TrustedHousesitters, and would like some advice before paying for the annual membership. :smiley:

I will need a cat/house sitter for December, however, I am afraid that since Montreal is a cold/snowy city during the holidays, it will be hard to find a sitter, even more because it is for over a month.

My question is, is it hard to find sitters for that length, in winter and during the holidays? I just would not want to pay if I would most likely not find someone. Since I would be paying my membership specifically for that sitting.

Thank you for the advice in advance :slight_smile:

3 Likes

HI @valentina-alonso ,
Welcome to the group. Trustedhousesitters offer a money-back guarantee if you do not receive any applications So you have nothing to lose!

1 Like

Montreal is at least a city, a real one. I enjoyed visiting when I lived in the US.

But I am back in Europe now. Last Christmas I was in Brussels, a bit too rainy but otherwise very enjoyable. This year I am looking for Prague, Vienna, or Berlin. For sits of at least two weeks.

1 Like

Welcome @valentina-alonso
It is hard to say what the odds are of finding a sitter but I just did a search for Montreal cat sitting over the festive period. One came up but it was only for a week and has two applications showing.
Xmas and New Year sits can be difficult to fill because you will be against strong competition. Many homeowners plan to go away and less sitters are available because they spend time with family and friends.
You could be fortunate and find someone who wishes to be in Montreal to visit friends or family. If they are travelling from afar a month is a good length of time.
If you go ahead and join make your listing as inviting as possible with clear photos of your home and cat. Mention the advantages of living in your area and things to do, transportation links etc.