THS Post Covid/Expanding and the rise of the home owner

I’ve been house sitting through this platform since 2019. I’ve had some wonderful experiences and met some wonderful people.

However, I can’t help but feel through my interactions within the past years (especially within the past year) have become unbearable and I’m considering leaving the platform.

Most home owners are not reading the terms and conditions or break them during the sit, I’ve had multiple people add additional pets to the sit the day I arrive (and they aren’t listed or protected by any insurance provided by THS) not to mentuon support for housesitters is almost non existent. I have a 10+ year career in animal care, pretty good record with dog bites, I had the worst dog attack in my life at a house sit because the owner lied about having a biting, reactive dog, I discovered the accident policy covered everyone except the sitter and I had too finish the sit, because we aren’t allowed to cancel, even when in danger or living in other peoples’ flilth…for example. And it has only become more common within the past year, despite THS assuring me otherwise and that disputes in the community are rare.

Now I know people are going to say, leave honest reviews. That does not work. People can delete their accounts and register with a new email and appear as a new user. I’ve experienced this several times, trying to give new users a chance, as I once started with zero reviews myself.