Unresponsive confirmed sitter

Hello Everyone!
My name is Sue and I’m pretty new to all of this and have only used the service one time previously.

I need some advice as I have a confirmed house/pet sitter and we have been trying to contact her with no luck at all. We have sent an email through Trusted HouseSitters, her personal email, texting and calling her leaving messages. Our sitter was driving from Ontario and we haven’t heard anything for a month. We are getting quite worried and hope nothing has happened.

We will be away in January for approx. 5 weeks and we are quite concerned.

Any advice on this would be very helpful.

1 Like

I’d contact THS support as a month seems a long time without getting a response.

4 Likes

One month and no replies? Have you heard of gosthing ? Unfortunately it’s very common especially among young people… In any case perhaps it’s time to look for another sitter

2 Likes

Thank you for that suggestion. I will do just that!!

Yes, I was thinking of that as well. May have to put out some feelers to have a Plan B. Thanks for that!!

I’m curious about this. Because being on TH requires paying a non-trivial amount of money. Ghosting just seems unlikely. That said, I have noticed unresponsive HOs and heard about unresponsive sitters.

@Sue2: Yes, please contact Membership Services. Hopefully they can shed some light.

Of course, there are two levels of concern here: One for the sitter as a human being, and one for you getting a sitter. While you wait to hear from Membership Services, I guess you could ping the sitter on all channels again, letting her know that if you don’t hear back within a day, you’ll sadly have to start looking for another sitter.

3 Likes

Thank you so much for your input. I will try contacting her again tomorrow through all channels. Much appreciated!!