What’s typical for sitters?

Hi.

Is it normal for a sitter to request additional emailed references from a homeowner? Especially for a short and fairly local sit?

For reference, I am background checked, all my info is verified, I have references on my profile and also have a social media presence (as do my pets), all of which I direct potential sitters to check out, if they prefer. My home has plenty of pics etc. my profile is also pretty transparent and thorough.

I am fairly new to the app. I have hosted one prior sit. It was a longer term sit. The interview and selection process was awesome. Everything worked out swimmingly. And that was prior to having references posted… I was brand new!

Now, I have a post up for a weekend sit and I am hitting walls.

Because of a lack of applicants, I had decided to move forward w a sitter who didn’t have the qualifications I preferred but who seemed like a lovely person and was somewhat local.

But before confirming the sit she wanted additional emailed references concerning my pets, home and me.

At first I was ok with the request as the internet is what it is and I want any prospective sitter to be excited and comfortable to sit. But when she reached out 24 hrs after the interview to let me know she had not yet received the email— and suggested a deadline contingent on these additional references— I started to rethink.

I have the exact same number of references and clearances on the app as she (and more experience with animals) yet it I had not asked anything further of her— even though it was she who would be the stranger in my home caring for my animals.

I decided to decline the application— but are these requests normal? How do you all respond.

Thank You!

2 Likes