When a potential sit has past sitters but no reviews

Since I am relatively new to THS, I am wondering if more experienced sitters can share what they think when they look at a potential sit, that has had several past sitters, but no one has left a review?

Also, has anyone ever requested a review and then the HO does not respond? This has not happened to me, luckily, but I was just wondering what others do- how much do you pursue it?

Thank you!

3 Likes

I actually would like to piggy back onto SoloTravelerā€™s inquiry and ask how do you know if HOā€™s have had past sitters who havenā€™t left a review. Iā€™m not seeing this when I look at sits. Thank you.

3 Likes

I usually check if the owner has left the sitters a review. If they have and the sitters havenā€™t, I find it slightly alarming.

Bear in mind that a lot of ā€œsitsā€ in 2020 and 2021 might not have gone ahead and sometimes havenā€™t been deleted. That might be a reason for the no-review.

If owners donā€™t automatically leave a review, I send them a request one week after the sit and if necessary again two weeks later. That always did the trick for me :grinning:

5 Likes

@SoloTraveler Could be a red flag, could be coincidence if there are several past sitters and no reviews. If it was a sit I was interested in, my spidey sense would kick into high gear and I would proceed with caution. You could apply and if you have the opportunity to speak with the HO, you could bring up the topic of past sitters and ask the HO why there were no reviews. If the past sitter is still active, you can click on their name and see if the HO left them a review.

Weā€™ve never not had a HO leave us a review, fortunately. We always send a request a few days following the end of the sit if the HO has not already written a review.