Application Not Responded to - 9 Days!

I’m new to THS, but have had 4 great sits and a couple upcoming. I’m in the US and am now applying for sits in Europe. I’ve applied to one (9 days ago) that I’d LOVE to do, but the host has not responded. It’s in a highly desirable location and starts in 10 weeks and all applications filled within minutes. It has been “read” but nothing else.
She has an active account with 10 previous sits, all with great reviews.
I hate to pester and message again - what would you do?

This happens quite a lot. Some owners never reply at all. It’s up to you if you want to follow up, but if it was me I would just keep applying for other sits instead of trying too hard with one particular person.

3 Likes

Since it is far away and ticket prices only go up as the time gets nearer, I may also either mention that you would like to secure a ticket before they’re sold out or just withdraw if you don’t find out in time. Personally, I would need at least 2 months if not more to go to Europe due to flights and making plans for my own dog. I feel like they narrow the pool tremendously by not even letting you know when they’re planning to decide.

Our record is 8 months and counting!!!

We applied April 24 for a sit in the UK for December 13 - January 6. While our original application and follow up message were read, we NEVER got a response. We eventually withdrew our application and that unread message is 3 months and counting.

Never received a notification that another sitter was chosen.

The Home Owner had an earlier set of dates posted at the same time, but no review ever appeard, so concluding no sitter was confirmed.

We have followed up before and “gotten” the sit because we did follow up. They can only get 5 application, so it would hardly be a bother to get a note from you. Just make it short, sweet, and persuasive that you are the right person for their sit. It never hurt to ask. We have been back to that particular sit 4 times since then!