Can I turn down a sitter even when no other options?

I am new to THS but not new to house swapping. I have advertised two dates and have had very little response for either, but I think we should have our summer dates sorted now. (fingers crossed!)

Regarding the other dates, I have had a few applications but all have been unsuitable. Either they want to bring a dog (I have stated quite clearly in the listing that my dog wouldn’t cope with another dog in the house) or they have no references, or reviews and only an email check, and to be honest, they just didn’t feel right to me (very limited english/no personalised message in the application, or reference to me or my pets/ or their partners and family were not in the photo and no details about them even though they wanted to come as a group.

So I think my question is, is it OK to turn people down just based on a bad feeling and not liking what I see in the profile? If I still keep the listing live, won’t it look odd? How do you explain to people that you are turning them down but keeping the dates open to applicants? I don’t want to be mean and I want to be open minded, but also, I really want to be careful about who is in our house looking after our precious pets and belongings.

Any help gratefully received!

12 Likes

Trust those feelings.
You only owe no one nothing.

8 Likes

Hi @devonhazel and welcome.
Absolutely it is OK to decline an application from a sitter who you do not feel is suitable. This has happened to us on occasion with no accompanying message and we do not take it personally.
You need to be totally comfortable with your decision at the end of the day. There are some great sitters out there so trust your ‘gut’.
Best Wishes

6 Likes

I agree with the others. We get turned down from time to time, and it’s no big deal.