European Bathrooms

This is meant to be a fun and silly post so please do not take it any other way.

I am American and I have been traveling around Europe for the last two years. I love it but there are a few things that really bother me about European bathrooms. I do not understand why there are never any plugs in the bathrooms. I understand the reason for this historically (moisture and electricity), but in many modern houses, there are still no plugs in the bathrooms. And equally, many of the rooms I stay in do not have a mirror near the outlets. I usually end up blowdrying my hair in the living room! Are Americans really the only people who use outlets in the bathrooms? Maybe I need to start traveling with an extension cord!!! :laughing:

3 Likes

Some Europeans do have plugs in the bathroom. At least Finland, and I’d assume the other Nordic countries as well. So go North! :snowflake::snowman_with_snow::snowflake:

4 Likes

Writing from Sweden: close to the shower or the bathtub power outlets are not allowed.

In many homes there is a power outlet near the wash stand that is only meant for things like electric razors, electric toothbrushes etc. It won’t power a hairdryer.

It is not safe to use an extension cord to use grid power in the bathroom. It is then not certain that you will be protected by a ground-fault circuit interruptor.

2 Likes

Thank you. I was just joking about the extension cord. I will continue to do my hair in the living room! :laughing:

4 Likes

And I charge my electric toothbrush in the dining room!

3 Likes

I lived in Spain and there were plug outlets in bathrooms there. However in the UK where I am from it is not permitted for plugs to be in bathrooms apparently due to perceived safety concerns.

1 Like

Our electric comes into the house as 240volts. In in US the electric voltage is much lower at 110 volts therefore safe enough to have electric sockets in damp, moist areas.