Hi There

Hi I’ve been sitting since July 2021 and I’ve completed 8 I think so far. Currently in South Lanarkshire lovely and lovely clean house.
I’m having an amazing time even though one house was filthy and one kitchen was filthy. One house had a slug problem in the kitchen even in the cat’s bowls and one HO advised me they had a rat problem when I got there! I’m learning and I’m now very wary if there are no inside pics of the house. I am waiting for a response from THS regarding these things. I am finding that the review situation is unfair, the implication seems to be you give us 5 stars we will give you 5 stars.
Like I have read on previous topics they are not B&Bs or hotel rooms but peoples homes that are lived in and I don’t mind cleaning what I use but I would never invite anyone to stay in my home without cleaning it first.
The houses with the rats and the slugs the locations were amazing so 5 stars but why can’t there be separate sections like there are for sitters i.e house, location, pets?

Elaine

3 Likes

Hi @Lainey welcome to our community forum, thank you for joining us. Welcome also to TrustedHousesitters it’s great to hear that you are having an “amazing time” and have completed 8 sits so far, that’s amazing … well done.

Have these been local, what’s the furthest you’ve traveled and are you looking to sit over Christmas? There are wonderful opportunities on the site and as someone who has sat for the past 6 Christmases I can highly recommend it.

I’ve been on my amazing pet sitting journey for many years and have completed numerous sits across 5 continents and while there have been “moments” which I needed to attend to with homes they really have been in the minority.

These situations shouldn’t happen of course and we do everything we can to guide all of our members, sitters and owners in best practices and how to prepare for sitters and how to leave a sit