HO asking me for documents

Hello everyone! I’m basically new in THS and I need your advice. I’ve applied for a long term sit, I already had the interview with the HO and it pretty much went well. But today I received a message stating that he needs my documents like ID and proof of address. Is that normal in the process? Can someone guide me through that please?

It’s not normal, but they can ask and you can decline and probably not get the sit. It’s not against THS terms to ask. Some sitters are OK with showing IDs. Some reject such requests and see them as red flags of mistrust, which can set the tone for a bad sit.

The typical instances when say a driver’s license might be requested: when you drive a host’s car or when they need your ID to secure parking and/or rights to use amenities in their building or community.

7 Likes

I guess that would severely restrict the pool of sitters such a HO could get. Because typically it is the nomads that are interested in the really long-term sits.

My guess is that they told about their pet sit to a friend and that friend suggested that the HO should require this kind of thing.

I’ve done it on two occasions. Both very high end properties that housed many valuable items. I didn’t have any problem providing after my sit was confirmed. I mailed regular mail with proof of receipt. I don’t send personal documents over email.

3 Likes

No it’s not normal, HOWEVER, given you are new and you are after a long term sit then it sounds fine, just give them what they want. I am surprised they are considering you if it’s a long term sit when you are new, so that is brilliant, I’d send them what they want, as it will help them to feel more secure saying yes to you, when you are new and it’s longer term.

2 Likes

We were asked for proof of ID once when we stayed in an apartment in a luxury block in central London.