Horses as well as cats?

Hello, I’m a Newbie to the Forum but not THS, we’ve used them for 5 years pre Covid and had some really great sitters from all over the world to stay in our converted farmhouse in the stunning North Wales countryside. We have two cats but now I have my horses at home (one normal size the other is a miniature), I was wondering if this would put off Sitters?

They’re very friendly and live out but do need a bit of attention.

11 Likes

I think there are some sitters that aren’t comfortable around horses. But there are others of us that would jump at the chance, as long as there was enough time for a proper handoff and clear written instructions. If you are willing to trust someone that may need more coaching on their care (and what warning signs to look for in case of illness), I think it would be a great thing. Make sure to mention in your listing what level of experience you require. I recently saw two sits that required having previously cared for horses because one of the horses was elderly. Good luck, I’m sure you’ll find the perfect sitter for all your pets.

5 Likes

Hi @JuliePetParent ! Glad to have you on the forum. I have zero experience with horses but I can think of two people off the top of my head here on the forum who would LOVE to take care of them. I’m sure there are many more. If you want feedback on your listing, just add it to your forum profile:
How to add your listing to your forum profile
Your location sounds beautiful too.

3 Likes

Thank you for your insight. I’ve actually published our sitter dates for the day before we leave (with accommodation provided that night elsewhere) so I can go through everything they need to know about the horses and cats. We always try and meet our Sitters beforehand and give them dinner.

3 Likes

Thank you Mars, I’ll look into that! Guess if someone wants to ride my horse, then they can! Not the tiny one though of course lol.

2 Likes