Introduce myself

Hi, I’ve been a member, on and off, with THS since 2011 though only recently have upped my participation in house sitting after taking early retirement. I’m an ex veterinary nurse who grew up on a farm and have always traveled for work or pleasure. House sitting combines all these factors in the best possible way. As basically I’ve been constantly on the move for the past 20 years I’ve not been able to have my own pets so looking after other people’s pets is a privileged. After veterinary nursing I retrained in my 30’s as a marine biologist and again as a horticulturalist in my 50"s and more recently I’ve been working as a domiciliary carer as this gives me flexibility to take time off to house sit. During 2020/21 I really enjoyed house sitting in my own country, UK but in the winter I prefer to head for warmer climes.

4 Likes

Hello @Creaturecomforts and a warm welcome to the forum. It’s always lovely to hear from our long term members and especially when they have experience as both owners and sitters which is invaluable to our newer members.

Where do you like to go for your winter warmth? Any repeat favourites or do try different destinations each year?

We had to spend a few years back in the UK in 2019 and fell in love with our home country all over again by selecting sits in areas we’d never visited. Together with our National Trust and English Heritage memberships, like you we had fabulous local experiences!

Please enjoy connecting with members and joining the conversations and we look forward to seeing you around the forum. All the best :slight_smile:

2 Likes