Lingering Applications

Hi there!
I’m new to TH, but not new to Housesitting as I’ve been doing it privately for 4 years. I’m a clear and swift communicator with my clients or inquiries - if it’s a yes or a no. But have not found this to be the case on here.

My questions are:
-Can my applications just linger there indefinitely? Even if an HO has chosen a sitter? Will I be notified?
-Does the sitter have to manually decline each applicant they are not choosing? (If so, I suggest an auto-decline notification feature!)
-Do most HO confirm the sit on the site, so at least I will see that it’s no longer available?

I have continued to apply to interesting sits, but I’m wondering what to expect from the HOs and the platform insofar as clear answer about my application. I guess I have to make decisions that are best for me, try to communicate and keep moving!

Thank you!

1 Like

Yes, once the sit is confirmed, all the other applicants are automatically declined, and will receive a notification.

Most HO’s are polite and do acknowledge those sitters not chosen, but some just don’t find it necessary or have the time to do so. With that being said, once a HO has confirmed with a sitter, all remaining applicants receive notification they were not chosen.

Hope this helps.

1 Like

I notify sitters when I’ve chosen someone else. That said, I don’t notify them until someone else is confirmed, so it may take several days until an applicant gets a message from me explaining that I’ve chosen someone else. The only exception I can think of is if the applicant clearly did not read my listing or is somehow obviously not appropriate for my listing (bringing their toddler, etc.)

1 Like

Hi!
A few of your questions have already been answered but I just wanted to add that yes, you have to manually go in a withdraw your application for any active sits that you no longer wish to be considered for.