New, but with standards

My wife and I have been willing pet lovers for many years. We are now petless, but looking forward to loving and caring for the pets of others as an opportunity to travel, meet new people and stay engaged with life.

We have 3 sits lined up for the summer and are eagerly anticipating each one as a new adventure.

Having said how excited we are about the THS opportunities, I did some research on the forum and used many of the tips there to help select sits that we would be most happy with. Based on sitter feedback, we have been staying away from sits that:

Specify the animal(s) cannot be left alone for more than a few hours and must be left in a closed room with the door closed when the sitters are not there. This sounds like a pet that may not be housebroken or may have tendency to destroy furniture or property. I’m sorry if that’s your dog, but we aren’t animal trainers and we are not keen to contemplate a sit that involves non house trained dogs. Be happy to help you house break a puppy, we’ve done several of those, but sitting an animal that isn’t house trained or house friendly just isn’t what we’re interested in.

We’re looking forward to meeting new friends and animals this summer and planning on a long term sit in the winter of 2022 or spring of 2023.

3 Likes

Hello @loventhis welcome to our community forum and to TrustedHousesitters and congratulations on having three sits in place for the summer, where will you be sitting and what pets will you be keeping company?

Doing research and managing needs and expectations is so important, applying for the right sit and having clear communication between everyone involved is the key to success, the forum is a great information resource and if you can’t find the answer then ask the question. In addition to the forum there are many great articles on the website blog …

Enjoy connecting with members from around the world and we look forward to sharing in your new THS adventure.