New sitter here, need some advice

Hi everyone!

This is my first time here, both writing on the forum and petsitting.

I have my first sit confirmed next month and I was wondering what kind of information should I know or ask about the pets, the house, the neighborhood, etc prior my arrival.

Obviously we already had a call and we exchanged messages about the pets and their needs, but the owner it’s also first timer, so I thought about asking here in the forum because we’re probably missing a lot of things.

One of the owners will be there when I arrive, so I assume the necessary directions on where different things are located in the house, taking out the garbage and that sort of thing will be addressed when I get there, but I was wondering, what kind of information is important for me to have in advance and quickly accessible?

By the way, I requested the welcome guide a couple of weeks ago but the owner hasn’t filled it out yet, I’ve read on the forum that there are people who find it annoying to fill out and decide to make their own document, so I would like to know what kind of information you usually receive in this guides.

Thanks in advance!

3 Likes

It really depends on the type of pet / breed and what prior info you received. Perhaps it’s good to go through all the different situations in your mind and see if any question comes up. E.g. if you have a strong dog you might want to know if he’s leash trained, if it’s a young female you might want to know if she has been neutered.

Welcome @Elavi. I’d try and get the HO to fill in the welcome guide. The more info in there the better and easier for the HO.
I’d specifically want to know the emergency contact, the HO’s vet. Water and electric shut off points. Useful to know the personalities of all pets, when they get fed and any other useful info like they need brushing x number of times. How long can pets be left alone?
I presume you have the HO’s full address details to hand?