New to this, and lots of questions!

Hello there! I’m new to this and have some questions as an owner.

Next year I am going to be overseas back and forth -sometimes as long as four months away from home. If I look for a house sitter for four months, can I expect them to contribute to the gas/electricity bills, or is this really cheeky? I think my concern is with the rise in utility bills. I am mindful of my usage and would not suddenly want huge bills while I am overseas.

I have no pets, and therefore the only thing I would ask of the house sitter, is to maintain the garden, which would not be time consuming.

My other question is - is it unreasonable to state that I don’t want the house sitters to have visitors in my home?

Thanks in advance everyone!

1 Like

A warm Welcome to the forum. You really will find members very helpful here.
There is a comprehensive thread around the untilities question, so do have a look at that…

Kind regards
Therese

1 Like

Hello @MaloryTowers and welcome to the forum. I’ll just address your final question, about visitors. THS has a strict policy on this topic, for both owners and sitters.

2 Likes

That’s really good to know. :grinning:

1 Like

As I’m new to this, I suppose I haven’t thought things through. I think my concern would be that financially due to rising utility costs, I would be way out of pocket having sitters stay in winter, running the heating. As opposed to keeping the heating on minimal while I am away. I did read other posts where people were aghast at being asked to contribute to utilities. If I was looking to house sit - it really wouldn’t bother me paying a reasonable amount towards heating. I’m getting free accommodation, experiencing a new area and a new way of life.

1 Like