Question for Owners

Hello Everyone; looking a lot quieter here these days isn’t it?
Just to recap, I’m a very novice sitter, so I’m not speaking from any position of authority.
I saw a sit on the site recently and it looked good until getting to the part where the owners wanted the sitters to pay the utility bills. It was quite a long term sit - is this normal? Reasonable? An increasing tendency?
As a sitter, I presume I am in your home primarily to take the very best care of your bambini pelosi. You also have the added bonus of me keeping your home occupied & therefore more secure, warm if appropriate and being in situ to respond to emergencies such as burst pipes or weather damaged structures or power failures, the sorts of things that can happen in absentia. Of course I will also keep it clean & tidy as it would be if it was left empty.
What, therefore, are the arguments for asking me to pay to do this?

2 Likes

@Saltrams Never ever been asked to pay any bills or contribute to expenses anywhere. Not sure we’d contemplate a sit where that was mentioned.

3 Likes

@Saltrams I have wondered about sits where they ask you to pay utilities. It doesn’t make sense to me, don’t they need to heat or cool the house for the pets anyway? We did have a 6-month sit that they asked us to contribute $100 US per month, but in the end, they changed their minds and we paid nothing.

I think no matter how long the sit is, you need to be clear on what temperature the owners keep the house. You don’t want them to return and have a huge bill. It is also up to the owners to let sitters know if they are concerned about utility bills.

There was one housesit in Scotland that asked for utilities to be paid, so I asked them about it. They got very defensive, so we withdraw our application.

The question is, is the sit still worth it if you need to pay the utilities? The one or two others we have looked at, it wasn’t worth it so we never applied for them.