Question for Owners

Hello Everyone; looking a lot quieter here these days isn’t it?
Just to recap, I’m a very novice sitter, so I’m not speaking from any position of authority.
I saw a sit on the site recently and it looked good until getting to the part where the owners wanted the sitters to pay the utility bills. It was quite a long term sit - is this normal? Reasonable? An increasing tendency?
As a sitter, I presume I am in your home primarily to take the very best care of your bambini pelosi. You also have the added bonus of me keeping your home occupied & therefore more secure, warm if appropriate and being in situ to respond to emergencies such as burst pipes or weather damaged structures or power failures, the sorts of things that can happen in absentia. Of course I will also keep it clean & tidy as it would be if it was left empty.
What, therefore, are the arguments for asking me to pay to do this?

2 Likes

Hello. I’ve never asked my sitters to pay any bill but these sits were never longer than a month
I guess if you stay a few months and use central heating in a cold country, the bill might be rather high
Apart from central heating and electricity what do they ask for ?
To share heating sounds rather normal for à long stay. How much would you pay for only one room in the same region ? Your “work” will be what ? 2hours à day maximum. But you’ll stay probably in à bigger home than a hotel. And if you have no personal home, do remember you may stay in a sit without paying any rent. Be positive.
If you don’t agree, well don’t apply. There are plenty other sits where owners don’t charge…

1 Like

@Saltrams Never ever been asked to pay any bills or contribute to expenses anywhere. Not sure we’d contemplate a sit where that was mentioned.

3 Likes