Newbie Here: How Do I Check HO profile or Reviews

I have clicked and clicked within the main THS website and searched this forum. But I have still have been unsuccessful. I’m nervous about all the information regarding red flags and want to be thorough about a sit I’m interested, safety-wise. How do I locate the HO profile? How do I tell if they are a new HO, that may not have reviews yet? If they are not new, how do I locate reviews from sitters? I know HO can see Sitter profiles. Are Sitters able to see HO profiles as well? I just want to make sure it’s legit, if I travel alone.

Maybe I’m not clicking on the correct links in their sitter request advertisement…
Please assist.

A grateful (and overly cautious) newbie,
I. M.

3 Likes

Hello :wave:

If a homeowner has sent you a message, then you should be able to click on their name and that will take you to their profile. (That’s how it has worked for me, as a homeowner receiving an application from a sitter.)

If you dont feel comfortable about a sit, dont accept it. Ask lots of questions before you accept it. There are currently more sits than sitters - if this one isnt right for you, there are plenty of others to choose from.

3 Likes

The HO actually doesn’t have a profile. The listing itself is the profile.
If a sitter has given feedback to the HO it’s to be found on the listing page.

Don’t be discouraged by all of these red flags people write about. Listen to your gut feeling, when you apply and the HO answers, ask as many questions as you need to feel comfortable, do ask for a video call and ask if they can walk you through the house. Nobody is able to cover up cramped and dirty interiors for a video call.

3 Likes

I think a home owner has a profile if they’re a sitter as well.

2 Likes

Yes, that’s right. But an “only” HO only has the listing. But as there is a section to introduce yourself, it’s not that different from a profile.

2 Likes