Owners Charging Sitters Utilities

Owners should be required to disclose their intention to make sitters pay utilities. This should be listed in Responsibilities in the ad. Otherwise, the owner can recruit top sitters like myself, and keep their intent to have me pay, as a bargaining chip in the application process.

I have been providing housesitting services on this site for many years. I have never seen an owner say in the ad they require the sitter to pay. This topic came up in 2021, and the forum moderator said the owner is in breach of terms, unless they disclose required payment from sitters in their ad.

Today when I filed a formal complaint about an owner doing this to me, staff for this company told me they do not require owners to disclose required payment from sitters in ads, but it must be discussed upfront. This allows them to get sitters to apply without knowing at the time of application.

Trusted Housesitters has an obligation to protect sitters from being recruited to sit for an owner who expects payment, but is not forthcoming in the ad about it. I would never accept a housesit for someone who is not totally up front in the ad.

If you agree with me that the company should instate a requirement for full disclosure of all required payments by owner in every ad, please weigh in here. This is serious for those of us who are booking lots of sits.

7 Likes

I agree. If an owner requires payment (i e contribution to utilities) I would expect to read this in the listing and then I would not apply. If this came up as a requirement during the interaction over the sit I would refuse and would immediately withdraw as it would feel somehow underhand. I would feel tricked. HOs should definitely be upfront about such requirements as it is not usual in a THS sit exchange.

9 Likes