Sitter applied but now MIA

Total newbie here. I’m not sure if I should be alarmed. My partner and I are looking for a sitter at fairly short notice, though we could be flexible on dates if necessary. I posted our listing and within 24 hours a sitter applied. I responded almost immediately to invite them to a video call/chat but there has been no response. I sent another message but still no reply. Is this normal? I don’t understand why someone would apply and then ignore the HO. Am I missing something?

Thanks for any advice.

3 Likes

Welcome @Wizz Most don’t stay newbies for long here, as people settle in, participate, and quickly feel like part of this community.

You’ll read posts about ‘red flags’ and a sitter who applied and doesn’t respond promptly can be a red flag. I would suggest you move on from that person for now and consider other options. If they come back to you with a plausible reason perhaps, but otherwise there are many far more reliable sitters with THS.

I see you’ve added your listing to your username here, which is great. I’ve looked at your listing and it’s just lovely, and Hendrix (a Jimmy Hendrix fan maybe?) could steal someone’s heart for sure. :heart:

You might want to edit your listing title to show that you are flexible on dates, as that might help. You could also search for sitters by location, offering a sit to another newbie on THS who lives close by, allowing someone to get their first all-important review.

Francine,
Voluntary Forum Moderator

6 Likes

Thanks @BunnyCat. I might try inviting another HS but I’ve noticed a lot of ppl don’t seem to update their availability calendars.

1 Like