Timeframes - Posting & Confirming

Hi!
I’m new to TH, but not new to House/Pet Sitting, as I’ve been doing it privately for years. Right now, I often book almost a season in advance! My clients reach out to me minimally 1-2 months in advance, oftentimes more. And we confirm early too. I have most of my sits confirmed through to November and I prefer it this way.

I’m noticing a lot of sits on here are posted literally within days or the same month that the HOs need a sitter? Is this the norm?

I understand some HOs maybe have lost their usual sitter last minute and post on here as an 11th hour hail mary. I understand that situation.

But, what is the typical time frame HOs post (not in an urgent/last minute situation)? Within a month of the same trip? I’m trying to gauge if I should lock in a just “acceptable” sit or get in the habit of waiting for more advantageous opportunities closer to the time?

Maybe it’s also personal preference. I do not have my own home base, and so want to land my accommodations early.
I also personally don’t do anything 11th hour and would be more inclined and probably just better matched with HOs who post early, with the intent of locking in a sitter early, not 2 weeks prior to the trip.

What’s everyone’s experience with timelines of posting opportuntiies, choosing to wait for more closer to the time, etc? Worth the anxiety of the wait?! Maybe that’s the culture on here - a little last minute?

Thanks All!
~KellySue

Welcome @KellySue .

From my experience,I don’t think there is a “normal “ timeframe or a “THS culture “around timing . Each sit is as unique as the Home owner and their pets .

We’ve already had HOs invite us for sits in 2024 as well as some requesting us for a couple of weeks time .

Go with whatever suits you

1 Like