Worried sitter might not turn up prior to 2 week trip

I am new to TH -previously our cats have spent their holidays in cat hotels - but this year we are away on a long planned trip to Alaska- I am concerned that for all sorts of reasons, the sitter might not be able to arrive -health-transport strikes-change of plans-
we live in London UK and I get impression that this site is mainly US based - or am I wrong?

1 Like

Hi @julian42 and welcome. Is your sitter already booked and are they travelling in from abroad? If so all you can do is keep in touch with them prior to the sit to see how their plans are progressing (without harassing them of course). The majority of sits go ahead as planned but none of us can account for unexpected events such as strikes, cancelled flights, hospitalisation etc. THS suggest having a Plan B just in case.
If I book flights or ferries to get to a housesit I always send the confirmation to the homeowner as soon as it is booked to show our serious intent. I find it puts their minds at rest.
As far as I know they are still UK based but there is a strong focus on the USA in my opinion

2 Likes

Hi @julian42
I wanted to add to @Twitcher advice, and to remind you to also swap personal numbers and emails, so communication is then easy. I find WhatsApp a great way to keep in constant touch.

5 Likes

A good way to approach the subject is to ask about their travel plans with an offer to pick them up at the airport, train station or bus station. That way you are being helpful but also asking about the details of the plans. I’ve had home owners say “ let me know when you get your travel arrangements made and we can pick you up at the (fill in appropriate location)”.

2 Likes

Welcome @julian42 .

I think THS is actually based in U.K. - although it covers 130 countries .