Detail of searching for sitters

I’m fairly new to THS - have just had one sitter thus far.

Desperately searching for a sitter for one month time period. I leave in one month! I’m finding the site incredibly inefficient (and therefore frustrating) to find sitters who are available. I tried applying the “dates” filter but it does not work. I’ve just been randomly selecting people from my state and neighboring states and immediately look at the calendars, but often they do not show availability. Is there a way to apply a filter to *only show sitters who are available on the dates you need?

I also find the response rate 50/50 at best, which is disappointing.

Thanks for your help!

1 Like

Hi @Tales
You’ll find that a lot of sitters don’t update their calendar for availability but is automatically updated when sits are confirmed.
It would help if you linked your listing to your profile and we can have a look to see if it can be improved. Here’s how to do that:

Once you’ve done that, do take on board any advice seasoned sitters, and owners, give you as it may well increase your chances of finding a suitable sitter or sitters.

2 Likes

@Tales welcome to THS and all it has to offer. You are going to find a great deal of help here on the forum as well.

I took a look at your pics and I have a couple of suggestions. First, your sits are both in the summer but your lead pic shows snow on the ground. For all of us looking forward to the warmth that both Spring and Summer bring, this might stop someone from looking further into your listing. I would suggest you change out your pic to one showing what your home looks like when a sitter would be there…whether just green grass or if there are flowers blooming, I would definitely showcase that! And on that topic, I would make a pic of cutie pie Maddie the first pic that is on your profile. This will let the sitters see how adorable she is!