Hello from NZ

I’m Zoe,

I’m usually a global sitter, though currently localised to North Canterbury in NZ where spring was teasing us because today there’s rain, winds, and snow across the country.

I’ve been pet sitting/nomadic for three years now, and love caring for all animals but have an extra space in my heart for the more senior pets and their little quirks. I’m aiming to get back to two senior pooches in Cape Town for December at a lovely beachfront home. The SA borders open this week.

Aside from giving cuddles and accosting every dog I meet on a walk, I am also a part-time life coach, energy healer, and travel writer.

Nice to meet you all! Zoe

13 Likes

Welcome to the community Forum Zoe, lucky you to be in NZ and during springtime … the dark days of winter are creeping slowly in the Northern Hemisphere.

Thank you for joining us and we look forward to finding out more about your amazing adventures and time with TrustedHousesitters.

Oh New Zealand!! One of our two dream destinations (the other one is Japan). Really hope to get over there for a year sometime. One of our last house sits was for a couple that was spending 2 months visiting their son who had moved to New Zealand (from the US) and they came back absolutely raving about it. And as major Lord of the Rings fans, we will have to properly nerd out whenever we make it there!

One thing I’ve wondered about for New Zealand sitting is getting around. It seems like a car is definitely necessary?

1 Like

It depends - if you’re in a city centre, you can manage but on the whole, the public transport kinda sucks here. If the sit doesn’t come with a car then renting is relatively affordable (I’m renting from Jucy). It’s worth asking if the homeowner will leave a car (if they are going overseas) for you, you never know! I’ve turned down sits before where there was a need to rent a car and it was so expensive!