Hello from Salem, MA, USA

Hi,
I just found this site a few days ago from a friend’s recommendation. I’m new to pet sitting and a bit nervous to leave my pets with anyone if we have anyone that’s interested. Will someone apply??? I hope so!

I have 4 rescues–2 cats and 2 dogs. My two kids got to pick out a cat each at the shelter so we welcomed Peaches-Chicken-Noodle and Tookie-Bob into our family a couple of years ago. Yes, the kids named them.

My daughter got to keep our foster dog, Pepper (chi/terrier mix). She was our only foster fail or rent-to-own foster. She was from Arkansas and we discovered that she likes to dig clams as the beach. I’ve told many people that she’s an Arkansas Clam Dog. lol. Over the years, Pepper has learned that strangers don’t mean danger although she’s still a bit nervous in some situations.

A few months after the pandemic started, we welcomed Harry Hashbrown (a saluki mix from Qatar) into our family. His mother was found wandering in a dump in Qatar and a family took her in. She had puppies (all were adopted!) and they lived in the family’s home until they got too big then they lived in their courtyard. He traveled from Doha to Texas to South Carolina then up the coast to New Jersey where my husband met him to bring him home. Harry didn’t really know how to dog when we got him. We discovered a few months ago that he could bark–we’ve only ever heard him scream bloody murder (there’s really no other way to describe him trying to bark).

Living in Salem, MA we have thousands of people flock to our city during Halloween season (well, the whole month of October!)

I’ve included a link to my listing in my profile and would love to get feedback on it from those of you with more experience than I have. Is there anything I should consider changing to make it more enticing for sitters?

Thanks for your help!

Jenny

Admin Note: Post Moderated

5 Likes