How to decline a sitter gracefully without them feeling offended

Hello. I am new to Trusted House Sitters I and am getting a few responses for a house sit but feel they are either too young or appear to lack true value in what I am looking for in a sitter. Many seem to be ‘free spirited’ and need to be close to nature etc. which are absolutely fine qualities, but not quite what I am looking for in a sitter unfortunately. I feel that if I describe the sitter I am truly looking for (+50 year old or a retired couple), that it may appear to be insulting or discriminating. How would I word a preference such as this in my introduction?

2 Likes

Save everyone time and be specific in your listing. For instance, say something like: We lean toward older sitters.

That way, you don’t waste applicants’ time and you don’t need to decline a bunch of people you’d never pick anyway.

If anyone applies who’s not a fit, you can just say something like: We appreciate your applying and wish you well with sits. Meanwhile, we’re looking for a better match.

You don’t need to explain why you’re not picking anyone.

10 Likes

Why do you need to go into detail or specifics? If you don’t think they’re suitable just tell them you went with another sitter. That’s totally fine. Most pet parents here don’t even bother to respond personally to applications, either to initially acknowledge the application or to then decline the application. That’s annoying after a sitter has spent a lot of time telling the pet parent everything about themselves.

@Devina77

The more specific and detailed a HO’s listing is the better.

I agree with @Maggie8K

I have seen listings that I would have applied for but stated “couples only”, but I travel solo. In seeing listings that prefer couples, I feel disappointed, but realize that the HOs have their reasons. The listings gave me something specific and detailed. And I do not waste my time or the HOs’ time by applying to those sits as it would be pointless.