New - how to get first sit

Hi. I am new to THS and wondering best way to get first sit. I have applied to several but denied from each one. References are in. Guessing bc I do not have any reviews from prior sits?
Any advice on how to get the first sit would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

There are some really good threads on here if you search. Someone cleverer than me might be able to link them here!

In short, go for local sits and less desirable sits (but only less desirable in the sense of more demanding animals - make sure the owner still seems nice and has a track record of leaving reviews).

If you can sit over Christmas there are tonnes available. Not sure where youre based but places like NYC and London are really hard to get sits in!

Edited for typos

1 Like

Welcome @Pupsitter - we all had to start somewhere .

Several suggestions for getting your first sit are:

Apply for a local sit and offer to meet the homeowner and pets .

Apply for a last minute sit - homeowners will be very grateful.

Link your profile so forum members can make suggestions for improvements.

You can also read these threads for some more tips .

1 Like

Thank you for advice. I added my profile. If you have any advice, I would be greatly appreciative!

Hi @Pupsitter ! I think you accidentally forgot to click one more thing before copying your profile link.

When you get to your Dashboard, you will need one more click on “Preview your profile”. Once you’ve cliked that, you can copy the address.

@CatsAndDog - thanks for noticing. I have made that little fix to @Pupsitter profile.

2 Likes