Sitter not confirming on site, but wanted to simply do verbal agreement

hello! i’m new to th and have already had conversations with some really great potential sitters! it looks like i’ve found one and we’re both in agreement that it’s happening, but i confirmed here on th and she has not done the same. i asked her about it and she said that it was ok, that we have a verbal agreement.

i’m just curious if that’s the usual way to go. it feels a little shaky to me. i’d feel more comfortable with more of a “paper trail” so that she can access my welcome guide and so i can leave a review.

looking forward to hearing your thoughts on this!

A verbal agreement is not okay. She needs to confirm the sit so it becomes “official”

The only reason, that I can think of, that someone wouldn’t want to confirm a sit is that they are still shopping around for other sits that include your same dates or overlap your dates. Once a sit is confirmed a sitter cannot even communicate with people that post listings with the same dates.

I would reach out to her and explain the need for a confirmation. If she resists, you may need to find someone else.

8 Likes

@jm7 I agree with @Alice’s thoughts but also it may be that they are actually booked for a sit that overlaps your dates, not just shopping around. You can search the sitters profile and figure that one out though.

The other reason would be if their membership would expire during your sit and they don’t intend to renew. That would complicate things for them. If you confirmed and they did not renew, that would also complicate things for you as I think the sit could not go ahead via TrustedHousesitters.

A verbal agreement only from a sitter tells me that they have no intention of really confirming at this point.

4 Likes

Exactly. There’s no good reason for someone to not confirm via THS.