A "size" filter for dogs?

While browsing the forum, I’ve noted that quite a few sitters have mentioned their reluctance to accept sits with large dogs. Has THS considered a size (small, medium, large) filter for dogs?

I would happily care for a small dog but not a medium or large one. When I search the listings, I currently include the “dog” category in my searches and then visually scan each dog listing to determine the size of the dog. A size filter would save sitters who prefer a certain size dog a considerable amount of time. Additionally, it would help them find the size of dog that best suits their preferences and abilities, thus resulting in better matches.

As I’m relatively new to THS, I’d be very interested to know what others think. Thanks!

2 Likes

Hi @Mary-Kay
Welcome and yes a very good suggestion. I do the same as you and also put a paragraph in my profile that I prefer small/medium breeds and dogs that don’t expect to sleep on the bed :joy:. That said we are currently caring for a Labrador Retriever who is an absolute joy and so well behaved.

2 Likes

Thanks for the warm welcome, @Twitcher. I’m glad that the Lab for which you’re currently caring is such a joy!
I’ve been tempted to apply for sits when a medium/large dog looks sweet in their photo, but I wouldn’t be a good match due to a couple of scary incidents with poorly trained dogs when I was a child. That’s one of the reasons I thought a “size” filter for dogs would be helpful. It would definitely reduce the number of tempting sits that I see so I wouldn’t have to exercise so much self-restraint. :sweat_smile:
Wishing you more special moments with the Lab!

1 Like

I have wished for the same filter - along with others. I am not strong enough to walk a large, energetic, dog but I’d be happy to sit for one that was under about 40 lbs/18 kilo.

2 Likes