New from Texas

Hello,
I just joined THS. Currently, I live in Bryan, Texas also known as ew 'Aggieland". I recently retired and want to turn the page of life. I want to start living my dream of travel to new places, cultures, etc. I will start with exploring Texas, as no one else wants us due to COVID. I hope to get some housesits under my belt before venturing to another continent. My first baby step was joining THS.

8 Likes

Hi @evag008! Welcome to THS! :smiley:

1 Like

Thank you!

1 Like

Welcome from Dallas. I’m very new to THS also and have my first sit this week. It is also in Dallas, as getting local sits is easier and a way to build references. There are plenty if sits in TX, especially Austin, so hopefully you’ll get accepted soon.

1 Like

Yes, I have searched for Austin sits. I finally got my ID verification approved. Thank you. Let us know how it goes.

Eva

1 Like

Hi @evag008 a BIG warm welcome to our Community Forum and to TrustedHousesitters so glad to have you join us from Texas … thank you for taking a new adventure, baby step in our direction, the best direction.

Starting locally, when possible, is the very best way to get started and gain experience as well as build up the all important THS reviews, also to see if the lifestyle is right for you, before you travel to the other side of the world.

Have a good look around there are excellent conversations, lots of help and great articles. Do ask your questions you’ll find our community helpful, supportive and full of experience.

We will follow your baby steps and look forward to being part of your THS travel, dream adventure.

Angela and the Team

Thanks Angela. I have another question:
I have a video call with an HO. I got a request from another HO, that I prefer because its longer. Have not accepted yet. Should I accept it to see if I get it? The sits overlap so I can’t do both. Is it ethical to apply for both and then choose?

2 Likes