What is a reasonable amount of time to hear from HO about a sit

I’m new to THS and am starting to apply for sits as we will be traveling from the US and applying for sits in Europe. We already have one scheduled for the Christmas/New Years holiday and should have another one scheduled for September confirmed by the end of the week.
My question is this. How long is a reasonable amount of time to expect a HO to respond to and application. Even if they haven’t made a decision, just touching bases and letting you know some kind of timeframe they are looking at to make a decision. When should I give up on a sit and pursue other options?
Also, when canceling an application, should you give a message explaining why you pulled your application or is that necessary?
Dan

Hi @Danandnan,

On behalf of the forum team, a warm welcome to the TrustedHousesitter’s community. Congratulations on already getting some great holiday sits booked! In regards to your question there has been a very long discussion about that exact topic here that may help inform you.

As someone that is a HO and has been a sitter I have found that if a applicant messages me to kindly remind me they have been waiting a reply to their application (I respond well to that). If you need to decline an application for any reason I do find it courteous to send a message as to why you are pulling your application but it is certainly not necessary.

One a separate note, as you cannot share a link to your listing in this post, do share a link to your listing on your forum profile for a bit of extra exposure. But the main website is where ALL our members will see your opportunity and be able to apply and message with you.

If at any time you need any help don’t hesitate to reach out to our community here which is full of helpful members who have been through the process themselves and will happily give advice and guidance. And don’t forget our membership support team are always on hand to give assistance.