New HO from Rural Ontario, Canada

Hi! We are Terri-Lynn and Paul. We recently found this website through a current Sitter. We are 27 year Veterans of the Canadian Forces and both work full time in the public sector currently. I am in Administration and my husband is in Safety. We have two adult children both engaged. We love to travel but don’t get to as much as we would like. We are a few years from fully retiring but our goal is to travel a lot more when that happens. We moved from the city to the country 7 1/2 years ago. We have a beautiful 11 acre wooded property with deer, wild turkeys, many birds, squirrels, etc. It is approximately 1 hr from downtown Ottawa, ON.

We have a 9 year old Shephard-Mix named Ellie Mae and two 6 year old cats named Chevy and Poncho. All are rescues. They are our family members and we treat them as such. We love animals, nature, the outdoors and all the projects that the country and homeownership brings. We recently lost our kennel-free kennel for Ellie-Mae and our adult children each have two cats now in apartments so it is too much for them. When we heard about this service, we thought it sounded amazing as they can stay at home, get love and care, and have our house looked after while we travel.

It also allows other people to experience our area and hospitality. Once we are retired, we definitely want to give sitting a try. Sounds like an great way to immerse yourself in different cultures and lifestyles in a more relaxed way. To be honest, I am very nervous but I have to maintain my trust in people :o) Wish us luck!


@BabyMouse Hello Terri-Lynn and Paul,

I would like to wish you both a very warm welcome to TrustedHousesitters and to the forum community. We have a community full of wonderful members and they will be on hand to welcome you and help you with any questions that you may have. You can also use the spyglass to search topics and questions that have already been posted to the forum.

Thank you for introducing Ellie Mae, Chevy & Poncho - we would love to see some pictures of them. I think pets being family members is something that we all agree on :slight_smile:

When you have completed your listing on the website you can then share the link to it on your forum profile. This way other forum members can give you feedback, helpful tips and advice. You can also add your sitters profile when you feel it is time to start sitting and get helpful advise on how to start your sitting journey. In the meantime best wishes with getting started on the site as a pet parent!

1 Like

Hello @BabyMouse and welcome to the Community Forum :wave:t2::slightly_smiling_face:
Ellie Mae, Chevy and Poncho all look absolutely adorable :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:
You have a lovely profile and I am sure you are going to get many great applicants :blush:

Hi Samox24,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I appreciate it. I was worried about what I had written - too much? too little? We actually received two applicants and one other person who had our listing saved already. :heart_eyes:


@BabyMouse that’s fantastic news! :+1:t2::slightly_smiling_face:

Hi Terri-Lynn and Paul! Welcome to this world. My wife and I had a wonderful one month sit up in Val-du-Mont last fall and got to explore Ottawa.

There are some amazing people here that will love caring for your furbabies while you get to enjoy your retirement.

I myself (Brady) take time to trust people so I understand the nerves. I had the same thing first few times I used AirBNB to rent out our home in the past.

Your profile is great and gives me everything I would need to make my initial decision to apply if I was wasn’t engaged on a sit right now.

Also, thank you for your service!

1 Like

HI Jamie and Brady, thank you so much. We are proud of our service. We appreciate the warm welcome and look forward to being both a HO (now) and future Sitter. We get more excited the more we read on the forum and website! Enjoy your travels :o)

1 Like